The Power of Technology (and People) in Customer Service

The Power of Technology (and People) in Customer Service
— Last week, I was the “victim” of a technology-induced Customer Service disaster – the result of powerful technology being improperly used.
This week, customer service guru Micah Solomon comments on the situation.
Here’s a quick re-cap: I bought a semi-expensive electronic gadget – a $400 radar detector. When it arrived, it wasn’t working properly. I went to the manufacturers’ website for an answer and found none. I clicked on the “Chat” button to speak with a support person, and was told that the support center was closed, but if I detailed my problem, someone would get back to me.
I spent the time to type in a long and detailed description of my problem. A couple of days later, I got the following email response “It is good to hear from you! Please feel free to give us a call and we will be glad to help. Thanks for your interest in Beltronics!”

Read the entire article on Web2.0 Journal

note: I work at Dell

5 thoughts on “The Power of Technology (and People) in Customer Service

  1. Hey Hollis, I enjoyed this post and the failures of Beltronics vs positive connection from iRobot are clear, and it doesn’t surprise me that no one from Beltronics has even commented on this or the ulitzer post, but where do brands draw the line between engagement and support?

    For instance, if a consumer asks an open ended question on twitter about “tennis shoes” should Nike start a conversation? Or do you think that is intrusive?

  2. Justin, thanks for the comment.

    It doesn’t surprise me that nobody contacted me, although I’m vaguely disappointed – and I was rather pleased to see that iRobot does monitor social media channels.

    But things are changing very quickly. 18 months ago, I would have had zero expectation of either organization monitoring social media channels for individual events like mine.

    18 months from now, any company NOT actively monitoring AND responding will be (figuratively) shooting themselves in the foot (or in other sensitive parts). Expectations are changing that fast – if not faster.

Leave a Reply

