#Email #Marketing “Worst Practices” example – and a winner of the October 2014 Award

Here’s an example of a #Marketing tactic that is sure to get you banned from my list of “approved #Software vendors”.

It’s not only one “worst practice”, it’s at least 2 or 3 – all wrapped up into a single email spam campaign. That is a breathtaking achievement in and of itself. I’d be impressed, if I weren’t so irritated.

I check my email to see one entitled “Today’s Call”. I click on it – thinking that it must contain some important or useful details about a call I have scheduled today (otherwise, it wouldn’t be entitled “Today’s Call”.

Screen Shot 10-29-14 at 11.14 AM 001

Click for full-size

But no – it’s not that at all. It’s a deceptive email title designed to trick me into opening the email – from some company I’ve never heard of.

The purpose of the email: to try to get me to set up a call with one of their sales people, so I can buy their software. And not even for a call today – it’s for next week.

Sorry, Charlie. I don’t respond well to that kind of marketing trickery.

Instead of convincing me that I should set up a phone call with you, you’ve convinced me that you represent the kind of company I would never want to do business with.

And to make the whole experience even more annoying, this bit of #Spam goes on to ask “What time next week can we talk about the solution and if it would be a benefit for Zale?”

Aside from the horrible mangling of the English language (I hate it when terrible things happen to perfectly good sentences), I don’t work for Zale. I work for Dell.

So this email marketing campaign is not only slimy, it’s also careless and sloppy.

Congratulations, folks. This email campaign from @AtTask just won my Marketing Award for October 2014 on https://softwaremarketingexperts.wordpress.com

Award

Leave a Reply

